About Me
My name is Kaveri. I'm a 10-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 7, 2012.
Primary reason for rescue

At-risk of physical or sexual violence

1st language

Telugu

Chores at home

Washing dishes.

Grade

5th grade

School year

2021-2022

Favorite school subject

English

Career goal

To be a teacher.

Favorite color

Pink

Favorite activity

Playing Kho Kho (a popular tag game).

Favorite movie

Ala Modalaindi (a Telugu romantic-comedy film).

My Story

Kaveri’s father only wanted sons in his family—he didn’t believe that girls and boys were equal and thought sons would bring more value to him. When Kaveri’s mother gave birth to their first child, they were overjoyed to have a son—especially Kaveri’s father. He celebrated his son with many gifts and even began to set aside an amount of money out of his small wages to send his son to a good school. After a year went by, Kaveri’s mother was pregnant again and she gave birth to Kaveri. Kaveri’s father was deeply disappointed by her birth and gave little attention to Kaveri. He began to discriminate against her significantly because she is a girl.

While her brother was able to enroll in a good school, Kaveri’s father told her she did not deserve to be educated as a girl. He wanted Kaveri to go to work with her mother, even as a child, and earn money for her brother's education instead of being educated herself. Kaveri’s mother, desperate to save her daughter from child labor and discrimination, reached out to our social workers. Our social workers learned of Kaveri’s situation and were able to confront her father for his negligence and intervene on her behalf. After several meetings with our partners, her father has agreed to send Kaveri to school.

Your sponsorship ensures Kaveri is enrolled in a good school instead of becoming a child laborer. It also ensures Kaveri is receiving ongoing counseling and support from our social workers who are teaching her the worth and value of being a girl!